If you’re looking for the complete route description, I’m afraid you’re out of luck. You’ll need to buy the Cicerone guidebook – a small price to pay for peace of mind.  But you can see an overview below.

My route is based on the existing ‘E4’ footpath – which has its own excellent website here (German only) – with detours to my favourite mountain summits and river gorges, and suggestions to avoid road walks and other boring bits.

There are 14 stages, each of which takes a day i.e. 5-8 hours of walking time. But it’s quite flexible. You can split the route at Tripoli (stage 7), to make two 7-day routes. You can add up to 6 days of detours, to bring it up to 20 days. You can cut a couple of the less interesting days (stages 7 and 8). You can end up at the harbour town of Gythio (ferries to Crete), instead of Pantazi beach. You can even take the occasional taxi; it’s not a competition.

Whatever you decide, you do need to book your accommodation in advance, especially as some guesthouses might be closed.

Click here to view a Google map of the route

Stage 1: Diakoftó to Méga Spílio monastery

Stage 2: Méga Spílio monastery to Áno Lousí

Stage 3: Áno Lousí to Tourláda

Stage 4: Tourláda to Dáras

Stage 5: Nimfasía to Vytína

Stage 6: Vytína to Kardarás or Kápsia

Stage 7: Kardarás or Kápsia to Trípoli

Stage 8: Psilí Vrísi to Áyios Pétros

Stage 9: Malevís Convent to Vamvakoú

Stage 10: Vamvakoú to Paleogoulás

Stage 11: Mystrás to Anavrití

Stage 12: Anavrití to Taïgetos mountain refuge

Stage 13: Taïgetos mountain refuge to Árna

Stage 14: Árna to Pantazí beach (Messinía)